Rainy Day Laser Lobster

I have no  clue what to  do  with myself being home on a weekend. Time to make. I Googled up a pic of a spiny lobster.

lobsterspinytemp1000

 

Once imported into Corel Draw I spent 2 hours tracing the pic with vector lines while watching the Raiders go down in flames.

corle

I enjoy the graphics portion of a project like this. Very meditative.

 

I did  not sleep well Saturday night, laying in bed planning how to layout this piece. So Sunday I was up and off to work early to fire up  the laser cutter. I started with the top piece in 3 MM blonde Bamboo Ply.firstcut

 

 

cutted

Frame is ready!

cut

I then cut the inlays  and backing plate from Carmelized Bamboo in 3 MM. Time for fitup.

fitup

Wood glue applied.

ready

A few hours later the glue was dry. I used two grits of sandpaper to level everything out and remove the glue residue. Time for Varathane!

vara

When it is dry it will be mounted between the medicine cabinets.

img_0676-1

I am very pleased with the finished product.Fun way to spend the day.

Leave a Reply

